

PROVINCE OF SALERNO

Provinces, in Italy, are local territorial bodies of a vast area, lower in level than regions and higher than municipalities, which were changed in 2014 into second-level administrative bodies with the replacement of elections with restricted suffrage, the abolition of councils, and the distribution of powers to provincial councillors reduced in number.

The province of Salerno is an Italian province in Campania of over one million inhabitants, with a territory of 158 municipalities covering an area of over 4,900 km² and a population density of around 323 inhabitants/km², due to the vastness of the territory, comprising several distinct historical-geographical entities.

In the northern is the area of the Agro Nocerino-Sarnese, also in the north, but on the western slope (south of the Sorrento peninsula), is the Amalfi Coast, listed by UNESCO as a World Heritage Site; in the south-east is the capital city of Salerno, which lies where the Irno valley flows into the sea, between the foothills of the Lattari and Picentini mountains; further east is the Sele plain, or Paestum plain, until the 20th century an unhealthy and marshy land, but now an area of high agricultural productivity and strong tourist appeal; to the north of the plain is the hilly and then mountainous area of the Alto and Medio Sele, on the border with Irpinia. Beyond the Sele are the vast areas of the Cilento and Vallo di Diano, vì Due to the vastness of the territory, comprising several distinct historical-geographical entities. In the northernmost part of the province is the area of the Agro Nocerino-Sarnese, also to the north, but on the western slope (south of the Sorrento peninsula), is the Amalfi Coast, listed by UNESCO as a World Heritage Site, to the south-east is the capital city of Salerno, which lies where the Irno valley flows into the sea, between the foothills of the Lattari and Picentini mountains; further east is the Sele plain, or Paestum plain, until the 20th century an unhealthy and marshy land, but now an area of high agricultural productivity and strong tourist appeal; to the north of the plain is the hilly and then mountainous area of the Alto and Medio Sele, on the border with Irpinia.Beyond the Sele are the vast areas of the Cilento and Vallo di Diano - National park and UNESCO heritage site -, predominantly mountainous and verdant territories that are difficult to access and have long remained isolated from the main traffic flows, but of great scenic charm. From an orographical point of view, the most important hills include the Cervati in Cilento and the Alburni massif with Mount Panormo, belonging to the Lucanian Apennines; the Polveracchio and Accellica, in the Picentini mountains, belonging to the Campanian Apennines; the Eremita - Marzano massif, on the border between the Campanian and Lucanian Apennines; the Lattari mountains, the western offshoot of the Picentini mountains dividing the provinces of Salerno and Naples. The largest valleys are the Diano Valley, the Sele Valley and the Calore Valley. The coastline of the Salerno province stretches for about 220 km, from Positano to Sapri. Its morphology is extremely varied: the northern part is occupied by the famous Amalfi Coast, rugged and jagged, world-famous as a tourist destination; the central part is flat and is characterised by a wide, uninterrupted beach, hemmed in by a luxuriant pine forest, stretching for more than 50 km from Salerno to Agropoli, passing through Paestum; the southern part, known as the 'Costiera Cilentana', stretches for about 100 km from Agropoli to Sapri and is characterised by the continuous alternation of rugged, rocky stretches with wide, sandy beaches.

The Province of Salerno carries out activities to promote the area and its highly sought-after agrifood products on the Italian and foreign markets.

CONTACT
PROVINCE OF SALERNO
www.provincia.salerno.it
+39 089 614111
Via Roma - 84121
Salerno (SA) | ITALY
archiviogenerale@provincia.salerno.it